Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Athletic Hall of Fame


Established in 1996, the University of Mary Washington Athletic Hall of Fame recognizes the top individuals and teams in the history of the athletic program at the school.

The University of Mary Washington Athletic Department is proud to announce the 26th Athletic Hall of Fame Induction class. Inductees include former tennis star Noelle Labar '88, lacrosse All-American Kate Weller '01, soccer standout Michael Nissim-Sabat '03, swimming All-American Maureen Greenlee '07, and the 2011-12 women's basketball team.

Labar was the top player on Mary Washington's first NCAA Championship team in 1987-88, finishing with a 28-6 singles record playing number one, and finished 26-5 at one doubles. The Eagles finished 33-1 in that championship season, Labar's senior year. In her four-year career, the Eagles finished with an incredible 114-14-1 record. Labar still ranks second in program history in singles and doubles victories, with a 125-34 singles record and 101-27 doubles record.

Weller was the dominating defender as the women's lacrosse program became a national power in the early 2000s, gaining first team All-America honors in 2000 and 2001. The 2001 U.S. Lacrosse National Defender of the Year, Weller led the Eagles to their first-ever NCAA Tournament appearance in 2000, and the NCAA Final Four in 2001, gaining first team all-region and all-conference honors along the way.

Nissim-Sabat, one of the top midfielders in men's soccer program history, led the Eagles to a 54-21-4 record in his four-year career, with three teams gaining national rankings and one advancing to the NCAA Tournament, in 2001. He was a three-year team captain, gaining all-state, all-region, and all-conference honors in 2001 and 2002. He was a two-time NSCAA Scholar-Athlete All-America selection as well.

Greenlee put forth one of the greatest swimming careers in the storied history of the program, gaining 12 All-America performances and taking CAC Swimmer of the Year honors in 2004 and 2006. Upon graduation, she held eight school and conference records, including in the 50 Free, 100 Free, 200 Medley Relay, 400 Medley Relay , 200 Free Relay, and 400 Free Relay. She vaulted the Eagles to four conference championships, and two top-25 finishes at the NCAA Championships.

The 2011-12 UMW women's basketball team turned in one of the most memorable seasons in school history, completing the regular season and Capital Athletic Conference tournament undefeated, en route to 30 straight victories, a school record to this day.  The Eagles showed their trademark outstanding defense all season, limiting their opponents to just 42.4 points per game, and an incredible 30.8 field goal percentage. UMW saw just four opponents all season crack the 50-point plateau. Standout Katie Wimmer gained All-America honors, and was joined by fellow senior Jenna McRae on the all-region, VaSID and Richmond Times-Dispatch all state, and all-conference teams. Head coach Deena Applebury was a finalist for WBCA national coach of the year.

The induction will take place on Saturday, May 13, at Virginia Credit Union Stadium, with a social hour at 5:30 p.m., and the program following at 6:30. Tickets for the event will be available soon.


UMW Athletic Hall of Famers, Nomination Process

If you would like to nominate someone for the UMW Athletic Hall of Fame, please use THIS FORM. Athletes must have finished their careers at least ten years before they may be nominated.

Class of 1996
Ethel Armstrong '63
Ruth Bonner Grosskopf '85
Frank Gilmore '84
Bill Lohr '86
Deb Reid '82
1982 AIAW Champion W. Tennis Team

Class of 1997
Buddy Hawley '87
Pam Heller '87
Jenny Utz '82

Class of 1998
President William Anderson
1988 NCAA Champion W. Tennis Team

Class of 1999
Dr. Edward Hegmann
Glenn Smith '89

Class of 2000
Scott Karr '90
Peggy McKelvey '88
Shane Shackford '90

Class of 2001
Dan Beverly '91
Kim Cosgriff '91
Dave Lausten '91
1991 NCAA Champion W. Tennis Team

Class of 2002
Sean Carpenter '90
Christy Copper '91
Diane DeFalco '91

Class of 2003
Tammy Buhite '93
Matt Mejia '93
Sheri Whited '91

Class of 2004
Don Purcell '93
Leslie Roland '94

Class of 2005
Lesley Krush '93
April Moshos '94
Tony Trepal '93

Class of 2006
Sarah King '96
Jeff Kramer '96
Candice Malone '94

Class of 2007
Jon Gates '97
Jeff Hootselle '97
Tim Selgas '97
Myra Simpson '97

Class of 2008
Eliza Barcus '96
Eliza Huber Scott '96
Chris Rice '98
Jennifer Wilson Buck '94

Class of 2009
Chris Blelloch '97
Charlotte Cockrell '98
Eric Guyton '99
Felicity Smith '98
Chris Wallace '97

Class of 2010
Mariah Butler '00
Craig Gillan '98
Johanna Klein '00
Stephanie Lowe '96
Kim Myers '00 

Class of 2011
Roy Gordon
Yurissa Mitchell '00
Lea Schon '01
Stefanie Teter '96
Jin Wong '97

Class of 2012
Kim Alvis '00
Ellen Anderson '01
Bridget Geiman '01
Erik Kochert '02
Jessica Morris '02

Class of 2013-14
Bobby Bergin '03
Dan Dupras '03
Tom Sheridan
Conor Smith '03
1993 Field Hockey Team

Class of 2014-15
Melissa Block '04
Carol Hawley '84
Tamalyn Reed '93
Megan Reese '98
1997 Men's Soccer Team

Class of 2015-16
Erin Caulfield '01
Peter Diamond '03
Stan Soper
Tasha Thomas '95
1992 Women's Soccer Team

Class of 2016-17
Paul Bristow '06
Mark Matthews '94
Phyllis Quinn '77
Dan Uyar '04
2001 Women's Lacrosse Team

Class of 2017-18
Debbie Bruen Flores '07
Kevin Foeman '06
Dale Parker '07
2007 Women's Basketball Team

Class of 2018-19
Caitlin Erickson Moore '08
Kurt Glaeser
Liz Hickey '08
Joe Kruper '92
Mike Lee '07

Class of 2019-20
Justin Baker '07
Eric Fitzgerald '08
Dana Hall
Kevin Loden '03
Trish Long '84
2002 Women's Lacrosse Team

Class of 2021-22
George Bunch '99
Briana Gervat '02
Mitzi Kimball '89
Brynn Maguire '06
Clint Often
Kirsten Rowell '09

Class of 2022-23
Maureen Greenlee '07
Noelle Labar '88
Michael Nissim-Sabat '03
Kate Weller '01
2011-12 Women's Basketball Team