Coleman, Moghtader Named to VaSID All-State College Division Women's Tennis Team

Coleman, Moghtader Named to VaSID All-State College Division Women's Tennis Team

Fredericksburg, Va. –University of Lynchburg senior Christina Harris (Falls Church, Va.) was voted as the State College Division Player of the Year, Washington & Lee University freshman Marta Mikos (Willowbrook, Ill.) claimed State Rookie of the Year, and W&L head coach Erin Ness gained State Coach of the Year as the 2020 Virginia Sports Information Directors announced the College Division Women's Tennis teams on Thursday.

Lynchburg's career (71) and single-season (22) singles wins record-holder, Harris went 6-0 in the spring season. The 2019 ODAC player of the year was a three-time first-team All-ODAC player at No. 1 singles. She led Lynchburg to its first-ever ODAC semifinal in 2018 and its first ever ODAC runner-up finish in 2019, as the team break its single-season wins mark in 2019, going 18-3.

Mikos had a very strong rookie campaign, leading the Generals in wins with eight. She posted an 8-2 mark overall, including a 6-1 record at No. 1 singles and a 4-0 record in conference play. Mikos also concluded the season ranked 30th in the final Oracle/ITA Tennis National Rankings and seventh in the Atlantic South Region.

Ness led the Generals to an 8-0 overall record in 2019-20, including a 5-4 win over then 20th-ranked Washington (Mo.) and a 6-3 win over then 30th ranked Christopher Newport. The Generals also posted a 5-0 mark in the ODAC, winning four of the five matches by a 9-0 score.

First team honors in singles went to Harris, Mikos, Claire Coleman of Mary Washington, Taylor Garcia of W&L, Keyu Jin of Randolph, and Allison Wandlling of Sweet Briar.

First team doubles teams included Johanna Ranta-aho and Olivia Reed of CNU, Ruth de Souza and Emily Wandling of Sweet Briar, and Harris and Caroline Guill of Lynchburg.

Second team singles honors went to Liza Akimenko of University of Virginia-Wise, Fabienne Bachmann of Averett University, Kate Kotany of Sweet Briar College, Johanna Ranta-aho of Christopher Newport University, Ashley Schmitz of Randolph College, and Elizabeth Teefey of Lynchburg.

Second team doubles nods went to Kate Kotany and Allison Wandling of Sweet Briar, Claire Coleman and Abby Moghtader of Mary Washington, and Liza Akimenko and Katya Akimenko of Virginia-Wise.

VaSID names 44 all-state teams in 23 sports each year, as well as an Academic All-State squad and an all-sports champion in both the University and College Divisions. Membership in VaSID is open to all media relations professionals working at a university or conference in the state of Virginia.


All-State First Team                                                                      


Johanna Ranta-aho/Olivia Reed                           Christopher Newport University

Ruth de Souza/Emily Wandling                             Sweet Briar College

Christina Harris/Caroline Guill                               University of Lynchburg



Claire Coleman                                                            University of Mary Washington

Taylor Garcia                                                                Washington & Lee University

Christina Harris                                                            University of Lynchburg

Keyu Jin                                                                          Randolph College

Marta Mikos                                                                Washington & Lee University

Allison Wandling                                                         Sweet Briar College


All-State Second Team                                                                 


Kate Kotany/Allison Wandling                             Sweet Briar College

Claire Coleman/Abby Moghtader                     University of Mary Washington

Liza Akimenko/Katya Akimenko                         University of Virginia-Wise



Liza Akimenko                                                           University of Virginia-Wise

Fabienne Bachmann                                               Averett University

Kate Kotany                                                                Sweet Briar College

Johanna Ranta-aho                                                 Christopher Newport University

Ashley Schmitz                                                          Randolph College

Elizabeth Teefey                                                      University of Lynchburg